A study in scarlet

I have been working on sugar poppies for a few days.

I love poppies, they are one of my favourite flower, so I am trying to get them as good as I can..

It takes a while to make sugar flowers..first you have to prepare all the stamens and leave them to dry completely.

In the mean time you can work on the petals and then put it all together.

In this case the stamens require some work too…

The petals are quite big and the wire used is really thin…  they need to be done and dusted, then they need too dry. When they are “almost dry” the flower can be assembled. You have to find this “perfect moment ” when the petals will be dry enough to hold, but still flexible enough to be put in shape.

Well guess what, to understand when  this “perfect moment” comes is not easy at all!!

Anyway, here is the result of my work:

I guess the most important thing is that I have done it,

and I will keep trying until I am totally satisfied with the result.

What I really like about sugar flower work is that it teaches you determination

and consistency.

I guess that “perfect moment” only comes with experience and patience…

elementary, Watson!

What do you think about it? I would like to hear from you!

