A moveable feast

I spent a few days in Paris for a job trial (yes, there’s going to be BIG news soon)..and when in Paris one MUST find the time to eat desserts. And chocolates. And cake. And croissants. Unfortunately I have been really busy with the job and I was waking up at 1.30 am (and believe me, that definitely didn’t help) but I still found the time for a thing or two.

This time I even went to check an “english style” cake shop.  I had coffee and cake.. (sorry for the poor quality of the picture).

Yes, it was ok (the decorated cakes were actually really really beautiful) but, you know, I just had to run to stuff my face with chocolates from Patrick Roger.

If you don’t know Patrick Roger, here is what you need to know: 

He is amazing. And if you are not convinced yet, well maybe you need to take a look at this:

I’m sure by now you’re in love. If you like surprising stuff, Patrick Roger is not only amazingly talented, but also totally nuts! So he will surprise you every now and then with a new chocolate sculpture in the window. This time it was hippos, in november it was a gorilla..but such a cool one, I wanted to bring it home with me and hug it.

Last thing you need to know about Patrick Roger is that the staff there is so nice, you want to bring them too back home to hug them.

Next stop was a calorie refill at La Pâtisserie des Rêves:

I think I don’t need to add much more to this picture!! We had hot chocolate and hazelnut praline, Paris- Brest ( amazing),Saint-Honoré (ridiculously good), and a selection of marshmallows ( baby  eau de cologne to give you an example).

Passing by, we stopped by the Patisserie Viennoise

but to be honest it only was because our dinner destination was just in front:

I’m so glad our friends recommend this place! We had galettes (buckwheat crêpes) and cider and they were so good…..SO good!!!

Next time I’ll show you some other amazing pastry shops in Paris, stay tuned and eat more cake!!!

“If you are lucky enough to have lived in Paris as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life, it stays with you, for Paris is a moveable feast.”
Ernest HemingwayA Moveable Feast

What do you think about it? I would like to hear from you!

