Half for me..half for you

[scorrete in basso per la versione in italiano]

I’ve been making so much food for this Easter!

I made a typical italian cheese bread, which I will share with you soon, because it is great with cured meats and cheeses…I mean it doesn’t have to be Easter to make it at all!

Look, I even prepared nice coloured eggs for tomorrow’s brunch!

eggs 2.jpg

 

One thing is most important during this period of the year, at least if you have an English husband like me: hot cross buns, of course!

I made them twice in a week, they are really great fun to make, and I find their history very fascinating. They have being eaten in England for centuries, and there are many superstitions around them. Some say that they should be kissed before eaten, because of their cross…

hcb text 2.jpgSome say that, if shared, a bun will ensure friendship for the whole year..

hcb3 text.jpg

And another say they have medicinal power (this is my favourite one, for obvious reasons).

Anyway, here is the recipe that I followed:

Ingredients for about 30 buns

  • 180 gr butter, melted
  • 250 gr. milk
  • 100 gr. sugar
  • 10 gr. salt
  • the zests of one lemon and one orange
  • 4 large eggs
  • 12 gr. dried yeast
  • a pinch of all spice, one of powdered ginger and one of cardamom
  • 860 gr. all purpose flour
  • 150 gr. apricot jam, sifted

for the cross paste

  • 120 gr. water
  • 150 gr. flour
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil

for the filling

I divided the dough in 3 and I add to one part, dried apricots and roasted almonds, to the second third, candied cranberries and to the rest, raisins.

ingredients

The first time I made them I also used chocolate, but it was too “unconventional” [quoting my husband, the professional eater].

method

It is really simple:

Melt the butter. Add the cold milk to it and check the temperature. If the milk was cold from the fridge, it should be around 20 °C, which is right what the yeast likes.

Pour it in a bowl and add the yeast, the sugar, the spices, the zests and part of the flour. Mix roughly with a fork, then add the salt, the eggs and the rest of the flour.

Pour onto a floured surface, add your fruit or whatever filling you have decided to use and knead the dough until smooth.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Let it proof until double in size, in a bowl greased with butter, covered loosely with cling film.

At this point,  make the buns: place the ball of dough on a table without flour (it doesn’t work otherwise! ), form a “cup” with your hand and push on it moving your hand in circles, always in the same direction.

Place on a tray lined with paper and let proof again, always loosely covered with cling film or a clean cloth, if you prefer.

When they are almost ready to be baked, prepare the paste for the cross, just mixing all the ingredients together and pipe it on the buns with a piping bag.

Bake a 190°C for about 20 minutes.

hcb2.jpg

Happy baking and happy Easter! 🙂

Ho preparato così tanto cibo per questa Pasqua!

Ho fatto la pizza al formaggio umbra, seguendo la ricetta di Miria, che trovate qui. E’ venuta buonissima! Poi ho colorato le uova per la colazione di domani..

E la cosa fondamentale, soprattutto per chi ha un marito inglese come me… gli hot cross buns!

Ho seguito la ricetta proposta dalle ragazze di Re- cake questo mese, e mi è piaciuta tantissimo!

Li ho preparati due volte in una settimana, perchè sono spariti in un attimo!

Mi sono divertita nel prepararli, ed è stata una buona occasione per scoprire un po’ di più sulla loro storia, che è davvero antica e affascinante. Fra le altre cose, si conoscono moltissime superstizioni a riguardo. Una narra che vadano baciati prima di mangiarli..

Una, racconta che, se diviso con un’altra persona, un panino salvaguarderà l’amicizia fra i due per l’anno a venire…

E una addirittura assicura che abbiano poteri medicinali (e questa è la mia preferita, per ovvie ragioni… 🙂 )

Ecco la locandina di Re-cake, con la ricetta che io ho seguito quasi alla lettera, ottenendo all’incirca 30 panini da 50 gr. l’uno.

hot cross buns

Io ho apportato le seguenti modifiche:

  • ho ridotto la quantità di lievito a 10 gr, allungando leggermente i tempi di lievitazione
  • ho aggiunto all’impasto pepe giamaicano (all spice, spezia onnipresente nei dolci inglesi), zenzero in polvere e cardamomo, per dare un tono speziato, ma molto delicato.
  • ho diviso l’impasto in 3 ed ho aggiunto ad una parte albicocche secche e mandorle tostate, ad un’altra mirtilli rossi canditi e con la terza ho realizzato i classici buns all’uvetta.

La prima volta che li ho fatti ho aggiunto anche del cioccolato, ma mio marito (il mangiatore professionista) li ha ritenuti troppo anti-convenzionali.

Per quanto riguarda il metodo, ho seguito la locandina, con qualche passaggio che eseguo sempre per comodità, oramai con il pilota automatico. Per esempio: fondo il burro in un pentolino, poi ci aggiungo il latte freddo di frigo e ottengo un composto intorno ai 20° C, ideale per scioglierci il lievito 🙂

Non porto mai il lievito a contatto con il sale, quindi generalmente aggiungo quest’ultimo dopo aver mescolato all’impasto metà della farina.

Per il resto, ho seguito le indicazioni alla lettera e mi sono trovata davvero benissimo con questa ricetta, che vi consiglio vivamente!

hcb2.jpg

Se volete scoprire di più su Re-cake, cliccate qui!

Happy baking and happy Easter! 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Half for me..half for you

What do you think about it? I would like to hear from you!

